You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown – Iowa State University Theatre

book, music, and lyrics by Clark M. Gesner, based on the comic strip “Peanuts” by Charles M. Schulz

“Well, there may not be a million-to-one chance, but I’m sure there’s at least a billion-to-one chance.”

Charlie Brown, hopeful as usual, decides to try to discover what it means to be a good man.  Could it mean to make the most of what you have been given?  Although he has many things to do including feeding Snoopy and writing a hundred-word book report on Peter Rabbit, with the help of his friends from the famous comic strip, he manages to discover the answer.  A musical for the entire family.

December 3, 4, 10 and 11 at 7:30 p.m.; December 5 at 1 p.m. and December 12 at 2 p.m.

Fisher Theater – Ames

Single tickets: Adults $18, Seniors $16, Students $11. Tickets available through TicketMaster, the Iowa State Center Ticket Office in Ames, or at the door before the performance.

The Cast

Sally Brown – Megan Maller
Charlie Brown – Joseph Alan Smith
Lucy Van Pelt – Deanna Martinez
Linus Van Pelt – Mitchell Nieland
Schroeder – Ethan Peterson
Snoopy – Michael Reza Heath


Piano – James Tener
Bass – Jonathan Thoma
Percussion – Malcolm Kelly

Creative Team

Director – Jane Cox
Scenic Designer – Derek Hisek
Costume Designer – Kelly Marie Schaefer
Lighting Designer – Jim Trenberth
Music Director – James Tener
Stage Manager – Dan Fynaardt
Assistant Stage Manager – Alyson Boes
Movement – Jane Cox, Michael Reza Heath
Props Master – Katharina Beckerleg
Light Board Operator – Stephen Haydon
Sound Board Operator – Charlie Ziemann
Stagehands – Evan Campbell, Scott Kettner, Austin Kopsa
Followspot – Samantha Rieff
Wardrobe – Rakeesh Hannah, Kathleen Hoil
Photography – Patrick Gouran, Casey L. Gradischnig
Poster Design – Mary Bendgen
Program Design – Liese VanderBroek
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Madeleine Kobus, Amy Lempia, Emma Rose Miles, Samantha Silver, Lindsey Van Wyk, Anna Ward
Technical Director – Derek Hisek
Scene Shop Assistants – Brooke Berg, Katharina Beckerleg, Zachary Eskrich, Dan Fynaardt, Darren Hushak, Matt Meldrem, Liz Rankin, Michael Steffen, Josh Ster, Kelly Teitsworth, Nick Veenstra, Mat Wymore
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek
Publicity Assistant – Corinne Oertel
House Managers – Lindsay Allen, Casey Buenzow, Brittny Rebhuhn, Jeff White
Box Office Supervisors – Amber Fitzsimmons, Michael Reza Heath, Margaux Mireault, Nancy Palof


Publicity photos by Patrick Gouran

Production photos by Nancy Thompson

Posters #1 and #2 by Mary Bendgen

Read about it in Ames News Online, Ames 24/7, and Inside Iowa State!