The Tempest – Iowa State University Theatre Production

by William Shakespeare

tempest video slide

“We are such stuff as dreams are made on; and our little life is rounded with a sleep.”

Shakespeare’s last play, written by him alone, is set on an enchanted island that Prospero and her daughter, Miranda, have been forced to inhabit due to the betrayal of a sister.    A storm created through Prospero’s magic causes this very sister and her conspirators to be shipwrecked on the island and face those whom they abandoned to the sea. Spirits come to life and magic is real but will the result be vengeance or forgiveness, war or love?

April 20, 21, and 22 at 7:30 p.m.; April 23 at 2 p.m. – Fisher Theater, Ames

Adults $18, seniors $16, students $11. Single tickets on sale through the Iowa State Center Ticket Office in Stephens Auditorium and TicketMaster. Tickets are also available at the door.

The Cast

Ship Master – Rachel Henderson
Boatswain – Jordan Seth Coleman
Spirits/Reapers – Lena Frank, Rachel Henderson, Lena Menefee-Cook, Alyson O’Hara*, Erica Walling
Alonson – Alexandra Rundle
Gonzalo – David Detlefs
Antonio – Kelly Marie Schaefer
Sebastian – Michael Clinkscales
Adrian – Rosie Zbaracki
Francisco – Andrew Kille Smith
Trinculo – Jacob Hopson
Stephano – Keegon Jackson
Ferdinand – T.J. Misseldine
Ariel – Vivian M. Cook
Prospero – Jane Cox
Miranda – Ashley M. Diaz
Caliban – Adam Kroksh

*Dance Captain

Congratulations to Irene Ryan nominees Vivian Cook and Adam Kroksh!

Creative Team

Director – Amanda Petefish-Schrag
Scenic Designer – Rob Sunderman
Assistants to the Scenic Designer – Claire Kiloyl, Amy Taylor
Costume Designer – Kelly Marie Schaefer
Lighting Designer – Jim Trenberth
Sound Designer – Jim Trenberth
Stage Manager – Lindsay Koehler
Assistant Stage Manager – Andrew Roskos
Assistant Director/Choreographer – Taylor Millar
Original Music – Ben Schrag
Shadow Puppet Design/Construction – Amanda Petefish-Schrag
Light Board – Kenneth Shibata
Sound Board – Jared Rickard
Wardrobe – Erin Gilligan, Sarah Henrich, Olivia Krieger
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Michaela Conklin, Erin Connor, Caitlin Koziel, Kelsie Leathers, Lydia Loya
Technical Director – Natalie Hining
Scene Shop Assistants – Nolan Clemons, Christopher Culver, Ashley M. Diaz, Simon Duster, Mitchell Finger, Katelyn Kemp, Joseph Ulven
Charge Artist – Sarah R. Bennett
Master Electrician – Kenneth Shibata
Lighting Assistants – Russell Heerdt, Davis Vande Steeg
Props – Rebel Clodi, Merideth Raine
Photography – Nancy Thompson and James Tener
Poster Art – Andrew Kille Smith
Poster Design – Mary Bendgen
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek
Office Assistants – Jacob Campen, Adam Millsap


Production photos and headshots by Nancy Thompson and Jim Tener.

Poster by Mary Bendgen. Poster artwork by Andrew Smith.

Read about it in Inside Iowa State, the Iowa State Daily and The Ames Tribune or listen to Carole Horowitz’s April 20 Preview the Arts program on KHOI Radio!