The Secret Garden 2005 – Iowa State University Theatre Production

based on the novel by Frances Hodgson Burnett, books and lyrics by Marsha Norman, music by Lucy Simon

Based on the novel by Frances Hodgson Burnett, The Secret Garden tells the story of Mary Lennox, a lonely little girl who is sent to live with her uncle Archibald in Yorkshire after being orphaned by a cholera epidemic in India. Still grieving over the loss of his beloved wife Lily who died ten years earlier during childbirth and distraught over the condition of his bedridden son, Archibald casts a dark shadow over the manor until Mary discovers a secret garden that had once belonged to Lily. By nursing this garden back to life, Mary somehow restores life to her grieving uncle and his sick son.

The Secret Garden opened at the St. James Theater on April 25, 1991 with a cast that featured Daisy Eagan (Mary), Rebecca Luker (Lily), and Mandy Patinkin (Archibald). Marsha Norman won a Tony Award for “Best Book of a Musical” and Daisy Eagan became the youngest actress ever to win a Tony for her portrayal of Mary. The production enjoyed a run of 706 performances.

April 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16 at 7:30 p.m. and April 10 and 17 at 2 p.m.

Fisher Theater РAmes

The Cast

Albert – Rusty Anderson
Alice – Katie Argotsinger
Archibald – Joe Wilgenbusch
Ayah – Pavithra Rajagopalan
Ben – Tyler Brown
Claire Holmes – Laura Rudolph
Colin – Scott McDonald
Dickon – Ted Brimeyer
Dr. Craven – Micah Morgan
Extreme Waltzer – Nate Carrol
Extreme Waltzer – Patti Stringer
Extreme Waltzer – Scott Mettille
Fakir – Dustin Gentry
Jane/Nurse – Beth Neuerburg
Lily – Kelly Kruse
Major Holmes – Ben Jackson
Major Shelley – Nate Carrol
Martha – Katie Mozack
Mary – Hannah VanEvery
Mrs. Medlock – Kate Johnson-Burroughs
Mrs. Shelley – Patti Stringer
Mrs. Winthrop – Melissa Day
Rose – Sarah Thompson
Shaw – David Cheney
Timothy/William – Scott Mettille
Understudy for Mary – Rachel Paxton
Wright – Joe Matson

Creative Team

Director – Terence Goodman
Conductor – James Hannon
Costume Designer – Annaliese Baker
Lighting Designer – Jim Trenberth
Musical Director – Donald Simonson
Scenic Designer – Robert Sunderman
Stage Manager – Erin Karhoff
Assistant Stage Manager – Brittany Wagoner
Choroegraphy – Lorainna Nedved
Technical Director – Brian Swanson
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Photography – Patrick Gouran


Production photos and publicity photos by Patrick Gouran

Read about it in Inside Iowa State!