The Secret Garden 2016 – Iowa State University Theatre Production

Musical based on the book by Frances Hodgson Burnett, book and lyrics by Marsha Norman, music by Lucy Simon

young girl in a garden

“Now and then when one gets up at dawn and goes out and stands alone and looks up and up at the sky, one is quite sure one is going to live forever and ever.”

When Mary Lennox is eleven, both her parents die in a cholera epidemic and she is sent to live in Yorkshire with relatives she has never met. She is unhappy with everything about her. Then, shortly after she arrives, she notices a vine covered wall which surrounds a secret garden. A bird helps her find the key to the door and the next day she discovers the door itself hidden behind the overgrowth. She pushes open the door and her life begins to change.

April 8, 9, 15, 16 at 7:30 p.m.; April 10, 17 at 2 p.m. – Fisher Theater, Ames

Adults and seniors $24, students $16. Single tickets go on sale beginning September 14 through the Iowa State Center Ticket Office in Ames or any TicketMaster. Tickets are also available at the door in Fisher Theater prior to performances.

The Cast

Fakir – Racheet Matai
Dr. Neville Craven – Chris Spendlove
Archibald Craven – Aaron Johnson
Ben Weatherstaff – Jake Hopson
Dickon – Kevin Barron
Colin – Ben Siegel
Captain Albert Lennox – Christopher Culver
Lieutenant Wright – Joseph Alan Smith
Lieutenant Shaw – Keaton Lane
Major Shelley – Emillio Mata
Major Holmes – Nolan Brown
Mary Lennox – Kailey Gibbs
Mrs. Medlock – Bethany Banks
Martha – Bridget Ann Johnston
Mrs. Winthrop – Alexandra Rundle
Lily – Grace Chermak
Rose – Maddie Olsem
Alice – Sarah R. Bennett
Mrs. Shelley – Breanna Stiles
Claire Holmes – Olivia Griffith
Female Dreamer – Erin Gilligan

The KCACTF Irene Ryan nominees for The Secret Garden are Bridget Johnson and Jake Hopson. Congratulations!

The Orchestra

Nathanael Hardy
Maia Hove
Tzu-Han Hsu
Sara Jane Mildenstein
Claudia Coltrain

Alex Worman
Rachel Henning

Benjamin Gruman
Shota Hattori
Rae Stephenson

Brianne Anderson

Oboe/English Horn
Allie Lenselink

Bethany Schultz

Bass Clarinet
Tommy Krohn

Tess Fewell
Sam Johnson

Sarah McEntee

Travis Ford

Drew Quintana
McKenzie Oregon

Jacob Metzler
Dustin Miller

Creative Team

Director – Brad Dell
Co-Musical Directors – Donald Simonson, Patrick Gagnon
Orchestra Conductor – Patrick Gagnon
Scenic Designer – Rob Sunderman
Costume Designer – Kelly Marie Schaefer
Lighting Designer – Jim Trenberth
Choreographer – Valerie Williams
Assistant Director – Vivian M. Cook
Stage Manager – Lauren Dursky
Wardrobe – Cassandra Corbin, Merideth Raine
Stagehands – Emily Evangelist, Sarah Rankin
Light Board – Kenneth Shibata
Sound Board – Kourtney Richards
Follow Spot – Hannah Rublaitus, Emily Zapotocny
Box Office Supervisor – Vanessa Franklin
House Managers – Taylor Millar, Margaret Curry
Photography – Nancy Thompson
Poster Design – Mary Bendgen
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Erin Connor, Allison Kirstukas, Kelsie Leathers, Sara Turke
Technical Director – Derek Hisek
Shop Foreman – Bryce Poellet
Shop Foreman and Charge Artist – Hannah Roberg
Props – Rebel Clodi, Maggie Curry, Lauren Dursky
Lights – Caleb Davidson, Seth Rickard, Kenneth Shibata
Scene Shop Assistants – Kevin Barron, Brady Carnahan, Christopher Culver, Vanessa Franklin, Taylor Millar, Justin Tew
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek
Office Assistants – Adam Millsap, Alexis Reber


Read about it in Inside Iowa State, the Iowa State Daily and The Ames Tribune.

Publicity photos, headshots, and production photos by Nancy Thompson

Poster by Mary Bendgen