The Seagull – Iowa State University Theatre

by Anton Chekhov

man seated at typewriter

“What really matters is not fame, or glamour—not the things I used to dream about—but knowing how to endure things.”

Unforgettable characters reveal the passion of everyday life.  Hearts get broken, hope brings only disappointment, and living begins to seem like an exercise in managing regret. The playwright himself described his script as having “little action, tons of love.”

September 27 and 28, October 4 and 5 at 7:30 p.m.; September 29 and October 6 at 2 p.m.

Fisher Theater – Ames

Adults $17, seniors $15, students $9. Single tickets go on sale beginning September 13 and are available through the Iowa State Center Ticket Office located in the ground floor of Stephens Auditorium in Ames, any TicketMaster, or at the door before performances.

The Cast

Arkadina – Meghan M. Berkland
Konstantin – Brent LeBlanc
Sorin – Christopher Priebe
Nina – Christina Holaday
Shamrayev – Colton Brouwer
Paulina – Bethany Berger
Masha – Mackenzie Watson
Trigorin – Taylor Sklenar
Dorn – Nick Neal
Medvendenko – Kivan Kirk
Maid – Abby Lund
Cook – Samantha Koontz
Yakov – Mason Tyer
Hired Man – Taylor Diles
Musician – Mat Wymore

Creative Team

Director – Matt Foss
Scenic Designer – Rob Sunderman
Guest Costume Designer – Sara Jablon
Lighting Designer – Jim Trenberth
Stage Manager – Kiah Kayser
Assistant Stage Manager – Lauren Dentler
Props Master – Kiersten Naberhaus
Sound Design – Dan Poppen
Seagull Designer – Jesse Mooney-Bullock
Wardrobe – Elizabeth Thompson
Stagehands – Nivedita Jha, Drew McCubbin
Light Board – Indira Sheumaker
Photography – Nancy Thompson
Poster Design – Mary Bendgen
Technical Director – Derek Hisek
Scene Shop Assistants – James Allender, Devin Barr, Zachary Eskrich, André Johnson, Jr., Kiah Kayser, Brent LeBlanc, Brittany Miller, Kiersten Naberhaus, Nick Neal, Katie Olsen, Bryce Poellet, Seth Rickard, Hannah Roberg, Carolyn Susa, Justin Voga, Mackenzie Watson
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Lauren Dursky, Linsey Heister, Madeleine Kobus, Ariel Prosser, Amy Regan, Katie Riese
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek
Box Office Supervisors – Zachary Eskrich, Carolyn Susa


Publicity photos, production photos, and headshots by Nancy Thompson.

Poster by Mary Bendgen.

Read about it in Inside Iowa State, the Iowa State Daily, the College of Human Sciences blog, the Ames Tribune or watch the video!