The Night Thoreau Spent in Jail 2016 – Iowa State University Theatre Production

by Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee

Layout 1

“If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer.  Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away.”

In 1845 a twenty-eight year old man named Henry David Thoreau moved into a one room house on the shore of Walden Pond in order to think and to write.  He was already known for his love of nature, philosophy of life, and his passionate abolitionist views.  The following year he spent a night in jail for refusing to pay his taxes since the money would go to support the war that was being waged in Mexico.  He would become one of the most important writers in American history.

December 2, 3, 9, and 10 at 7:30 p.m.; December 4 at 1 p.m.; December 11 at 2 p.m. – Fisher Theater, Ames

Adults $18, seniors $16, students $11. Single tickets on sale through the Iowa State Center Ticket Office in Stephens Auditorium and TicketMaster. Tickets are also available at the door.

The Cast

Ralph Waldo Emerson – Keegon Jackson
Lydian Emerson – Emily Linch
Mother – Alexandra Rundle
David Henry Thoreau – Michael Clinkscales
John Thoreau – Nolan Kratky
Bailey – Tyler “Tex” Filipp
Deacon Ball – Zachary Smith
Ellen Sewell – Hannah Joy McNeal
Sam Staples – Chris Goetsch
Farmer – Adam Kroksh
Edward Emerson – Philip Stoytchev
Williams – Joe Swilley III
Townspeople – Jake Lilly, Rachel Henderson, Morgan Mulford, Emily Heckle, Daniel Trone

Creative Team

Director – Jane Cox
Guest Scenic Designer – Erica Zaffarano
Costume Designer – Rebel Clodi
Lighting/Sound Designer – Jim Trenberth
Stage Manager – Lindsay Koehler
Assistant Stage Manager – Andrew Roskos
Props – Ashley M. Diaz, Mariam Were
Light Board – Sarah R. Bennett
Sound Board – Wren Gamble
Stagehands – Maia Lorraine Craddock, Jacob Hopson, Taylor Millar
Photography – Nancy Thompson, James Tener
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Michaela Conklin, Erin Connor, Caleb Hanner, Caitlin Koziel, Kelsie Leathers, Eleanor LofteLydia Loya, Rebecca Nelson
Technical Director – Natalie Hining
Scene Shop Assistants – Kevin Barron, Brady Carnahan, Nolan Clemons, Christopher Culver, Caleb Davidson, Ashley M. Diaz, Simon Duster, Savanna Falter, Amanda Keesling, Katelyn Kemp, Lane Larson, Kenneth Shibata
Charge Artist – Sarah R. Bennett
Props – Ashley M. Diaz, Mariam Were
Lighting Assistants – Caleb Davidson, Lane Larson, Kenneth Shibata
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek
Office Assistants – Jacob Campen, Adam Millsap


Posters by Mary Bendgen

Production photos, publicity photos, and headshots by Nancy Thompson and James Tener.

Read about it in Inside Iowa State and the Iowa State Daily.