The Music Man 1998 – Iowa State University Theatre

by Meredith Willson

the music man 1998 production photo

One of the greatest musicals of all time, this is the story of fast-talking Harold Hill who cons the good citizens of River City, Iowa into buying musical instruments by promising to create a boy’s band. Not knowing a clarinet from a saxophone, Harold expects to skip with the cash in hand, only to be caught by the arms of the beautiful Marian the Librarian who transforms him into a reformed rogue and respectable citizen.

The Cast

Alma Hix – Katie Bogue
Amaryllis Britt – Katie Popp
Angie Butterfield – Barb Wiedmann
Arthur Britt – Jeremy Wofford
Barney Hix – Samuel Berbano
Candy Appel – Amy Dietrich
Charlie Cowell – Matthew Geiger
Chet Tatum – Jon Stewart
Conductor – Zachary Campbell
Constable Locke – Aaron Olson
Davey Squires – Erik Mahon
Davey Wood – Zachary Coles
Dwight Rogers – Todd Carter
Elualie Shinn – Miranda Squires
Ethel Tofflemeier – Amy Slump
Ewart Dunlop – Daniel Brabec
Fred Hix – John Gaskill
Gracie Shinn – Emmeline Hallam
Grant Wood – Luke Stoffel
Harold Hill – Kent Hartwig
Henrietta Svenson – Adi Boettger
Jacey Squires – Chad Lamb
Joey Squires – Kenny Trytek
Linus Dunlop – Nathan Sacks
Marcellus Washburn – Michael Falk
Marian Paroo – Meredith Lips
Maud Dunlop – Erin Berzina
May Dunlop – Valerie Carlson
Mayor Shinn – Aaron Schmidt
Mrs. Britt – Lisa Bodenhamer
Mrs. Paroo – Brenda Mulherin
Mrs. Squires – Sarah Bohnker
Nan Wood – Betsy Swanson
Nellie Dunlop – Bethany Wagner
Olin Britt – Zachary Campbell
Oliver Hix – Lee Keeler
Pepper Wood – Melissa Sorbo
Toby Tyler – Rich Campbell
Tommy Djilas – Eric Hemesath
Traveling Salesman – Ben Oviatt
Traveling Salesman – Nick Tann
Traveling Salesman – Rich Campbell
Traveling Salesman – Sean Kehoe
Traveling Salesman – Todd Carter
Traveling Salesman – Jon Stewart
Winthrop Paroo – Clifford Corley
Zaneeta Shinn – Cyndi Gryte

Production Team

Costume Designer – Jared Leese
Director – Marge Bennett Folger
Lighting Designer – Ray Steveson
Musical Director – Chris Johnson
Set Designer – Erin Baal
Stage Manager – Cheryl Williams

Production photos by Patrick Gouran