The Miracle Worker 2011 – Iowa State University Theatre

by William Gibson

“I wanted to teach you—oh, everything the earth is full of, Helen, everything on it that’s ours for a wink and then it’s gone.”

An illness leaves a very young child named Helen Keller blind and deaf, and consequently mute.  By the age of six, she seems to be completely unreachable and her family is losing hope.  Then her parents hire Anne Sullivan as a teacher for their daughter, and Anne must discover some way to do the one thing a teacher must–communicate The result is a profoundly moving piece of theatre.

February 25 and 26 and March 4 and 5 at 7:30 p.m.; February 27 and March 6 at 2 p.m.

Single tickets: Adults $15, seniors $13, students $8. Get your ISU Theatre tickets through TicketMaster, the Iowa State Center Ticket Office in Ames, or at the door before the performance.  Single tickets are on sale.

Fisher Theater – Ames

The Cast

A Doctor – Justin Kelly
Kate Keller – Annamarie Bellegante
Captain Keller – Mark Klooster
Helen Keller – Andie Newell
Martha – Ella Mueller
Aunt Ev – Maggie McGinity
James – Mitchell Nieland
Mr. Anagnos – Rubén Lebrón
Annie Sullivan – Vicky Stafford
Viney – Alyson Boes
Beatrice – Amanda Jorgensen
Alice – Sabrinna Hegelheimer
Laura – Ali Sandler
Sarah – Emma Beauchamp

Creative Team

Director – Jane Cox
Scenic Designer – Rob Sunderman
Costume Designer – Kelly Marie Schaefer
Lighting Designer – Jim Trenberth
Stage Manager – Kiah Kayser
Assistant Stage Manager – Joseph Alan Smith
Props Master – Liz Rankin
Light Board Operator – Stephen Haydon
Stagehand – Paul Pint
Wardrobe – Cicely Gordon, Katelyn Thompson
Photography – Nancy Thompson
Poster Design – Mary Bendgen
Program Design – Liese VanderBroek
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Madeleine Kobus, Amy Lempia, Emma Rose Miles, Samantha Silver, Lindsey VanWyk, Anna Ward
Technical Director – Derek Hisek
Scene Shop Assistants – Janie Anderson, Brooke Berg, Taylor Clemens, Zachary Eskrich, Dan Fynaardt, Kiah KayserMatt Meldrem, Liz Rankin, Michael Steffen, Kiersten Naberhaus, Josh Ster, Nick Veenstra, Mat Wymore
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek
Publicity Assistant – Corinne Oertel
House Managers – Lindsay Allen, Casey Buenzow, Brittny Rebhuhn, Jeff White
Box Office Supervisors – Amber Fitzsimmons, Michael Reza Heath, Margaux Mireault, Nancy Palof


Publicity photos, production photos, and headshots by Nancy Thompson

Poster by Mary Bendgen

Read about it in Ames 24/7 and Inside Iowa State!