The Importance of Being Earnest 2017 – Iowa State University Theatre Production

by Oscar Wilde

“In matters of grave importance, style, not sincerity, is the main thing.”

Two young men, Algernon and Jack, are good friends and are most desperately in love with two young women, Cecily and Gwendolen.  The obstacle to both their plans is that Cecily and Gwendolen state most emphatically that they cannot love or marry any man whose name isn’t Earnest.  The stage is set for deception.  This satire pokes fun at rules, love, egos, and behavior, and has been called one of the greatest comedies ever written.

February 24 and 25 and March 3 and 4 at 7:30 p.m.; February 26 and March 5 at 2 p.m. – Fisher Theater, Ames

Adults $18, seniors $16, students $11. Single tickets on sale through the Iowa State Center Ticket Office in Stephens Auditorium and TicketMaster. Tickets are also available at the door.

The Cast

John Worthing, J.P. – Tyler Hupp
Algernon Moncrieff – Michael Clinkscales
Rev. Canon Chasuble, D.D. – Chris Goetsch
Merriman – Jake Lilly
Lane – Alexander Criswell
Lady Bracknell – Emily Heckle
Hon. Gwendolen Fairfax – Erin Stein
Cecily Cardew – Erica R. Walling
Miss Prism – Alexandra Rundle
Moulton – Daniel Trone

The KCACTF Irene Ryan nominees for The Importance of Being Earnest are Michael Clinkscales and Tyler Hupp. Congratulations!

Creative Team

Director – Jane Cox
Guest Scenic Designer – Erica Zaffarano
Costume Designer – Kelly Marie Schaefer
Lighting Designer – Jim Trenberth
Lighting Assistant – Davis Vande Steeg
Light Board – Jared Rickard
Master Electrician – Kenneth Shibata
Stage Manager – Rachel Henderson
Assistant Stage Manager – Rosie Zbaracki
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Michaela Conklin, Erin Connor, Caleb Hanner, Caitlin Koziel, Kelsie Leathers, Lydia Loya, Rebecca Nelson
Wardrobe – Sarah Henrich
Technical Director – Natalie Hining
Charge Artist – Sarah R. Bennett
Props – Rebel Clodi, Merideth Raine
Scene Shop Assistants – Nolan Clemons, Christopher Culver, Ashley Diaz, Simon Duster, Mitchell Finger, Katelyn Kemp, Joseph Ulven
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek
Office Assistants – Jacob Campen, Adam Millsap
Photography – Nancy Thompson and James Tener
Poster Design – Mary Bendgen


Earnest Poster #2 and Earnest Poster #1 by Mary Bendgen.

Production photos by Nancy Thompson and James Tener.

Check out the video, read about it in Inside Iowa State, the Iowa State Daily, and The Ames Tribune!