The Birds – Iowa State University Theatre Production

By Aristophanes, adapted by Amanda Petefish-Schrag and Ben Schrag

Video Sign - The Birds

“The wise learn many things from their enemies.”

Two Athenians guided by a crow and a jackdaw leave their city and all its arguments in order to look for a better life. This is the start of an idea one of them eventually has—that birds were the original gods and should build themselves a great city between heaven and earth. The nightingale calls the birds of the world who begin to assemble and start building that city in the sky.

April 28, 29, 30 at 7:30 p.m.; May 1 at 2 p.m. – Memorial Union Maintenance Shop, Ames

Adults $18, seniors $16, students $11. Single tickets will be available through or at the door in the Maintenance Shop before performances as long as seats are available. Tickets can also be purchased at the M-Shop Box Office through April 22.

The Cast

Pisthetaerus – Adam Kroksh
Euelpedes – Keegon Jackson
Epops, the King of the Birds – Adam M. Mellerup
Procne – Vivian M. Cook
Trochilus/Starving Artist – Noel VanDenBosch
Bird Captain/Bird Priest/Poseidon – Michael Clinkscales
Poet/Prometheus – Taylor Sklenar
Athenian Reporter/Iris – Morgan Darrow
Prophet/Basileia – Ashley M. Diaz
Athenian Inspector/Hercules – Kathleen Hollie
Tribali – T.J. Misseldine
Lawyer – Alyssa Jack
Roger the Lawyer – Nathaniel Han
Messenger/Lawyer – Amanda Keesling
Donald Trump – Greg Millar
Zeus – K.L. Cook
Hera – Charissa Menefee
Bird Chorus – Morgan Darrow, Ashley M. Diaz, Nathaniel Han, Kathleen Hollie, Alyssa Jack, Amanda Keesling, T.J. Misseldine, Taylor Sklenar

The KCACTF Irene Ryan nominees for The Birds are Keegon Jackson, Kathleen Hollie, and Ashley Diaz. Congratulations!

Creative Team

Director – Amanda Petefish-Schrag
Scenic Designer – Jim Trenberth
Costume Designer – Kelly Marie Schaefer
Lighting Designer – Jim Trenberth
Stage Manager – Angela Burg
Assistant Stage Manager – Sarah R. Bennett
Puppet Design/Construction – Amanda Petefish-Schrag, Ben Schrag
Puppet Crew – Kevin Barron
Wardrobe – Emmy Cuvelier
Light Board – Jake Hopson
Sound Board – Olivia Griffith
Photography – Nancy Thompson
Poster Design – Mary Bendgen
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Erin Connor, Allison Kirstukas, Kelsie Leathers, Lydia Loya, Sara Turke
Technical Director – Derek Hisek
Shop Foreman – Bryce Poellet
Shop Foreman and Charge Artist – Hannah Roberg
Props – Rebel Clodi, Maggie Curry, Lauren Dursky
Lights – Caleb Davidson, Seth Rickard, Kenneth Shibata
Scene Shop Assistants – Kevin Barron, Brady Carnahan, Christopher Culver, Vanessa Franklin, Taylor Millar, Justin Tew
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek
Office Assistants – Adam Millsap, Alexis Reber


Read about it in the Ames Tribune and Inside Iowa State.

Poster by Mary Bendgen

Headshots and production photos by Nancy Thompson