Spring Awakening – Iowa State University Theatre Production

by Frank Wedekind, translated by Edward Bond

photo of young man and young woman gazing into each others eyes

Directed by ISU alum and Valley High School drama coach Stacy Hansen

What is life’s most dangerous journey? The journey from childhood to adulthood.

This play set in 19th century Germany tells the story of teenagers discovering their sexuality in a repressive society.

Mature themes, sexual situations, and explicit language.

October 3, 4, 10, and 11 at 7:30 p.m.; October 5 and 12 at 2 p.m. – Fisher Theater, Ames

Adults $18, seniors $16, students $11. Single tickets go on sale beginning September 15 through the Iowa State Center Ticket Office in Ames or any TicketMaster. Tickets are also available at the door in Fisher Theater prior to performances.

The Wednesday, October 1 edition of The Culture Buzz will stream on www.kfmg991.org from 11-1 p.m. central time. The segment on ISU Theatre’s production of Spring Awakening will air at 12:48 p.m., so be sure to tune in!


Melchior Gabor – Christopher Kent
Moritz Stiefl – Mason Tyer
Hanschen Rilow – Kivan Kirk
Ernest Robel – Emillio Mata
Otto – Christopher Grim
Georg Litschnitz – Taylor Sklenar
Robert – Christopher Tedford
Lammermeier – Adam Kroksh
Wendla Bergmann – Emmy Cuvelier
Martha Bessel – Indira Sheumaker
Thea – Alyssa Maldonado
Ilse – Erin Gilligan
Herr Gabor – Christopher Culver
Frau Gabor/Mrs. Schmidt – Emily Tigges
Herr Stiefl/Prof. Thickstick – Troy Richardson
Frau Bergmann – Kim Paul
Ina Muller – Corbin Jerde
Headmaster Sunstroke – Austin Farwell
Prof. Gutgrinder/Locksmith – Zack Hackbarth
Prof. Bonebreaker – Keegon Jackson
Prof. Tonguetwister/Dr. Lemonade – Joseph Alan Smith
Prof. Flyswatter/Friend Zieg – Brady Carnahan
The Masked Man/Uncle Probst – Jake Hopson
Dr. Procrustes/Fastcrawler – Adam M. Mellerup
Rev. Baldbelly – Michael Clinkscales
Gaston – Kivan Kirk
Helmut – Taylor Sklenar
Reinhold – Adam Kroksh
Rupert – Christopher Grim
Dieter – Christopher Tedford
Hanschen’s Visions – Corbin Jerde, Alyssa Maldonado, Indira Sheumaker

Production Team

Guest Director – Stacy Hansen
Scenic Designer – Rob Sunderman
Guest Costume Designer – Sara Jablon
Lighting Designer – Jim Trenberth
Guest Choreographer – Megan Helmers
Guest Composer – Derek Claussen
Stage Manager – André Johnson, Jr.
Assistant Stage Manager – Katie Olsen
Dramaturg – Nancy Evans
Props Masters – Rebel Clodi, Lauren Dursky, Mackenzie Watson
Scenic Painters – Julie Anderson, Meghan M. Berkland, Rachel Hupp, Kenneth Shibata, Rob Sunderman
Stagehand – Lindsay Koehler
Wardrobe – Mycailah Salvador
Photography – Nancy Thompson
Poster Design – Mary Bendgen
Technical Director – Derek Hisek
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek
Box Office Supervisor – Zachary Eskrich
House Manager – Rachel Pick

Read about it in the Iowa State University News Service article, the Ames Tribune, the Iowa State Daily on October 2 and October 6 and and Inside Iowa State.

Publicity photos, production photos, and headshots by Nancy Thompson.