Ruddigore – Iowa State University Theatre Production

libretto by W.S. Gilbert, music by Arthur Sullivan

None of the village girls stand a chance at marriage because the entire village is in love with Rose Maybud. Robin Oakapple also loves Rose, but when he becomes the wicked Baronet of Ruddigore, he is doomed by a witch’s curse upon the family to commit one major crime a day for life or die in agony. The ghosts of his ancestors appear to make sure Robin does not besmirch the family name by doing good. What chance can there be to win the hand of the fair and ladylike Rose?

ISU Theatre, ISU Music and ISU Dance join the two masters of comic opera, Gilbert and Sullivan, for an evening of music, dance and high drama as Robin, against all odds, fights the witch’s curse to win Rose’s love.

November 7, 8, 14, and 15 at 7:30 p.m. and November 9 and 16 at 2 p.m.

Fisher Theater РAmes


Adam Goodheart – Benjamin Jackson
Ancestor/Baronet – Joe Matson
Ancestor/Baronet – Philip Davidson
Ancestor/Baronet – Richard Fulkerson
Ancestor/Baronet – Micah Morgan
Ancestor/Baronet – Ted Brimeyer
Ancestor/Baronet – Ayron Hyatt
Bridesmaid – Melanie Allgood
Bridesmaid – Sarah Chapman
Bridesmaid – Patti Stringer
Bridesmaid – Sarah Thompson
Bridesmaid – Erin Schuman
Bridesmaid – Melissa Day
Bridesmaid – Laura Gengelbach
Bridesmaid – Kelly Petersen
Villager – Beth Neuerburg
Villager – Becky Christensen
Bucks and Blades – Matt McCue
Villager – Tom Stroman
Bucks and Blades – Greg Froehle
Villager – Anne Shelley
Bucks and Blades – Max Burnham
Ancestor/Baronet – Matt McCue
Bucks and Blades – Rusty Anderson
Villager – Jacqui Scanes
Villager – Lindsay Smith
Villager – Philip Davidson
Villager – Ayron Hyatt
Dame Hannah – Shelby Sievers
Mad Margaret – Katie Mozack
Richard Dauntless – Hayden Muhl
Robin Oakapple – Joe Wilgenbusch
Rose Maybud – Katie Argotsinger
Sir Despard – Trevor Helmers
Sir Roderick – Miles Morgan
Zorah – Melanie Allgood
Bucks and Blades – Micah Morgan
Bucks and Blades – Joe Matson
Bucks and Blades – Ted Brimeyer
Bucks and Blades – Richard Fulkerson


Nick Anderson
Matthew Bannerman
Sandra Barnard
Diana Billings
Kalie Brenneman
Carmen Bustos
Matt Butler
Chi-fan Chein
Joseph Chongo
Elizabeth Clark
Josh Deutmeyer
Laura Drilling
Katie Emmert
Nora Epping
Meredith French
Brendon Fuhs
Sara Gaeth
Erin Gaherty
Ben Gale
Melanie Goering
Emiri Haruta
Kent Heitman
Dan Jones
Ann Kostelnick
Neha Kothari
Alex Leung

Wilber Lio
Jen Lowry
Lauren Maixner
Jeremy Meizis
Dibayan Mitra
Matt Nelson
Laurie Neuerburg
Kristin Nonnecke
Kenneth Ryerson
Tracy Skadeland
Andrew Sprung
Gretchen Theesfield
Todd Trugu
Jared Wachter
Brooke Westphal
Chris Westra
Melanie Wilson
Lydia Yoder
Katie Zoller

Creative Team

Director – Jane Cox
Conductor – Alison Gaines
Costume Designer – Annaliese Baker
Assistant to the Costume Designer – Danielle Warnke
Lighting Designer – Jim Trenberth
Musical Director – Mary Creswell
Musical Preparation – Donald Simonson
Musical Preparation – Andrew Adams
Scenic Designer – Robert Sunderman
Assistant to the Scenic Designer – Benjamin Myers
Stage Manager – Justin Schlicher
Assistant Stage Manager – Nolan Thompson
Photography – Patrick Gouran
Program Design – Liese VanderBroek
Dressers – Nicole Ashbaugh, Brett Burkhardt, Lisa Hueneke, Lorainna Williams
Run Crew – Jamia Byrne, Drew Combs, Shauna Dennis, Derek Paper
Light Board Operator – Thomas Moore
Internet Site Coordinator – Jim Trenberth
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Brett Burkhardt, Erica Griese, Lindsay Hillyard, Emily Johnson, Nicole Laugesen, Jennifer Phillips, Erin Schulte, Danielle Warnke, Jenn Woodruff, Kristi Youngberg
Technical Director – Brian Swanson
Electric Shop Staff – Sally Grosenbach, Lara Parkin
Scene Shop Assistants – Laura Ellis, Jeremy Hilbert, Melissa Lamphere, Sarah Meylor, Jacee Rohlck, Aaron Sailor, Grant Thompson, Ben Wright
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek
Publicity Assistant – Katie Drake


Production photos by Patrick Gouran

Read about it in Inside Iowa State and the Iowa State Daily!