Romeo and Juliet 2013 – Iowa State University Theatre

by William Shakespeare

r&j graphic1_edited-1

“And when he shall die, take him and cut him up in little stars and he will make the face of heaven so fine that all the world will fall in love with night.”

Two teenagers fall passionately in love.  Unfortunately, their families hate each other and will never give consent to the marriage.  Juliet’s family even insists that she immediately marry another.  Since Romeo and Juliet cannot bear the thought of any kind of separation, what can they do to be together?

December 6, 7, 13, and 14 at 7:30 p.m.; December 8 and 15 at 2 p.m.

Fisher Theater – Ames

Adults $17, seniors $15, students $9. Single tickets go on sale beginning September 13 and are available through the Iowa State Center Ticket Office located in the ground floor of Stephens Auditorium in Ames, any TicketMaster, or at the door before performances.

The Cast

The House of Capulet
Lord Capulet – Drew McCubbin
Tybalt – Wes Ketcham
Samson – Brandon Brockshus
Gregory – Christopher Grim
Lady Capulet – Erin Gilligan
Juliet – Elizabeth Thompson
Nurse – Lauren Dentler
Peter – Adam Kroksh
Rosaline – Jenna Engebretson
Lady Widow of Vitravio – Devyn Lenaghan

The House of Montague
Lord Montague – Mark Klooster
Lady Montague – Nicole Valderrábano
Romeo – Dan Poppen
Benvolio – Taylor Diles
Balthazar – André Johnson, Jr.
Abraham – Emillio Mata

The Court
Prince – Elson Civilma
Paris – Blake Gibbons
Mercutio – Annie Feenstra

The Church
Friar Lawrence – Ethan Peterson

Apothecary – Leo Livingston

Creative Team

Director – Brad Dell
Assistant Director – Abby Lund
Scenic Designer – Kiah Kayser
Costume Designers – Ariel Prosser, Lauren Dursky
Lighting Designer – Zachary Eskrich
Stage Manager – Austin Schinke
Assistant Stage Manager – Justin Voga, Christina Holaday
Dramaturg – Shannon Lange
Props Master – Kiersten Naberhaus
Wardrobe – Julie Anderson, Mark Ribbeck, Jacy Rittmer
Stagehands – Bethany Berger, Kivan Kirk, Shannon Lange, Michael Still
Sound Board – Emily Vanella
Light Board – Alyson Boes
Photography – Nancy Thompson
Poster Design – Mary Bendgen
Technical Director – Derek Hisek
Scene Shop Assistants – James Allender, Devin Barr, Zachary Eskrich, André Johnson, Jr., Kiah Kayser, Brent LeBlanc, Kiersten Naberhaus, Nick Neal, Katie Olsen, Bryce Poellet, Seth Rickard, Hannah Roberg, Carolyn Susa, Justin Voga, Mackenzie Watson
Box Office Supervisors – Zachary Eskrich, Carolyn Susa
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Lauren Dursky, Linsey Heister, Madeleine Kobus, Ariel Prosser, Amy Regan, Katie Riese
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek


Publicity photos, production photos, and headshots by Nancy Thompson

Poster by Mary Bendgen

Watch the Ames Tribune podcast, or read about it in the Iowa State Daily and Inside Iowa State.