Quilters – Iowa State University Theatre

by Barbara Damashek and Molly Newman

This musical inspired by a project organized by the Smithsonian Institution as well as a variety of journals and books celebrates the struggles and fortitude exhibited by the women of the Plains through the interconnection between life, family, and quilting. “Quilters” blends a series of interrelated scenes into a rich mosaic, which captures the sweep and beauty, the terror and joy, the harsh challenge and abiding rewards of frontier life. This is ISU Theatre production is part of Iowa State University’s 150th anniversary celebration.

November 9, 10 and 30 and December 1 at 7:30 p.m. and November 11 and December 2 at 2 p.m.

Fisher Theater – Ames

The Cast

Sarah – Kaytee Stearns
Daughter – Tamara White
Daughter – Meghan Sigwarth
Daughter – Kayla Kaufmann
Daughter – Ellen Provorse
Daughter – Janae Hohbein
Daughter – Mariana Seda

The Band

Piano – James Tener
Bass – Marty Miller
Guitar – Steve Hurst
Fiddler – Kira Scott

Creative Team

Director – Jane Cox
Musical Director – James Tener
Vocal Coach – Steve Hoifeldt
Scenic Designer – Eleanor Kahn
Costumer Designer – Greg Duckett
Lighting Designer – Jim Trenberth
Stage Manager – Michael Rubke
Rehearsal Pianist – James Tener
Makeup and Hair Design – Chelsea Volpe
Costume Design Assistants – A.J. Delfs, Anna Krieger
Scenic Mentor – Rob Sunderman
Light Board Operator – Justen Jones
Sound Board Operator – Mat Wymore
Stagehands – Stephanie Melton, Zach Sobczak, TiAnn Taylor
Dressers – Amanda Levins, Sophie Miller
Volunteer Coordinator – Gregory Duckett
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Molly Davis, Amanda Lensch, Amanda Levins, Kelsey Nation, Joanna Suckling, Justine Year
Technical Director – Emily Brainerd
Assistant Technical Director – Andrew Schmeisser
Scene Shop Assistants – Jianna Dakin, Will Dean, Ben Howell, Nick Juelsgaard, William T. Mort, Joseph Seiler, Jaime Wood, Nick Veenstra, Mat Wymore
Props Master – Jaime Wood
Photography – Patrick Gouran
Program Design – Liese VanderBroek
Publicist – Devin Miller
Poster Design – Devin Miller
Box Office Supervisor – Lindsey Osborne
House Managers – Amanda Mullen, Abby Norton
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek


Publicity photos and production photos by Patrick Gouran

Poster by Devin Miller

Read about it in Inside Iowa State!