Noises Off 2012 – Iowa State University Theatre

By Michael Frayn

“I haven’t come to the theatre to hear about other people’s problems.  I’ve come to be taken out of myself, and preferably, not put back again.”

Noises Off began when the Michael Frayn stood backstage to watch a performance of a farce he had written and decided that what he saw backstage was funnier than what was happening onstage.  The result is Noises Off which shows the disintegration of a third rate theatre company from behind the scenes.  Frank Rich, theatre critic for The New York Times, called the script “The funniest play written in my lifetime.”

September 28 and 29 and October 5 and 6 at 7:30 p.m.; September 30 and October 7 at 2 p.m.

Fisher Theater – Ames

Adults $16, seniors $14, students $8. Single tickets go on sale September 4 and are available through the Stephens Box Office in Ames or any TicketMaster.

The Cast

Dotty – Kelly Marie Schaefer
Lloyd – Brandon Brockshus
Garry – Taylor Diles
Brooke – Shongedzai Matangira
Poppy – Elizabeth Thompson
Frederick – Taylor Sklenar
Belinda – Danielle Levings
Tim – Michael Still
Selsdon – Kyle Basom

Creative Team

Director – Jane Cox
Scenic Designer – Rob Sunderman
Costume Designer – Doris Nash
Lighting Designer – Zachary Eskrich
Stage Manager – Kiersten Naberhaus
Assistant Stage Manager – Julia Ferrell
Light Board – Mason Tyer
Sound Board – Mark Klooster
Stagehands – Mackenzie Watson, Joseph Poindexter, Drew McCubbin
Wardrobe – Keegan Brumer, Erin Fleming, Mark Ribbeck, Miranda Shunkwiler
Props Master – Liz Rankin
Photography – Nancy Thompson
Poster Design – Mary Bendgen
Program Design – Liese VanderBroek
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek
Technical Director – Derek Hisek
Scene Shop Assistants – Taylor Clemens, Zachary Eskrich, Kathleen Hoil, André Johnson, Jr., Kiah Kayser, Wes Ketcham, Austin Kopsa, Brent LeBlanc, Kiersten Naberhaus, Liz Rankin, Davalyn Stepzinski, Douglas VanOostenrijk, Justin Voga, Charles Ziemann
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Lauren Dursky, Katelyn Hall, Linsey Heister, Madeleine Kobus, Morgann McCoy, Emily Morley, Katie Riese
House Managers – Alyson Boes, Zachary Eskrich, Kiah Kayser, Austin Kopsa, Brittny Rebhuhn
Box Office Supervisors – Zachary Eskrich, Kiah Kayser, Carolyn Susa


Graphics by Nancy Thompson and Mary Bendgen

Production photos, publicity photos, and headshots by Nancy Thompson

Poster by Mary Bendgen

Read about it in Inside Iowa State and 24/7!