Mr. Burns, a post-electric play – Iowa State University Theatre

by Anne Washburn, score by Michael Friedman, lyrics by Anne Washburn


“Meaning is everywhere.  We get Meaning for free, whether we like it or not.  Meaningless Entertainment, on the other hand, is actually really hard.”

At a time in the very near future, a small group of people from a variety of places gather around a campfire after the power grid in the country has been permanently destroyed.  To keep up their spirits they discuss episodes of “The Simpsons.”  The time jumps seven years and then seventy-five years and the question becomes, “What happens to a pop culture pushed past the fall of civilization?”  A music finale helps answer the question.

September 30, October 1, 7, 8 at 7:30 p.m.; October 2 and 9 at 2 p.m. – Fisher Theater, Ames

Adults $18, seniors $16, students $11. Single tickets on sale through the Iowa State Center Ticket Office in Stephens Auditorium and TicketMaster. Tickets are also available at the door.

The Cast

Matt – Adam Kroksh
Jenny – Vivian M. Cook
Maria – Ashley M. Diaz
Sam – Keegon Jackson
Colleen – Lena Menefee-Cook
Gibson – Michael Clinkscales
Quincy – Mumbi Kasumba
Edna – Hannah Rublaitus
Act III Chorus – Maia Craddock
Act III Chorus – Sami Woodrow
Act III Chorus – Alexandra Rundle
Act III Chorus/Instrumentalist – Rosie Zbaracki
Pianist/Instrumentalist – Mat Wymore
Percussionist – Noah Allyn

The KCACTF Irene Ryan nominees for Mr. Burns are Vivian M. Cook and Mumbi Kasumba. Congratulations!

Creative Team

Director – Amanda Petefish-Schrag
Assistant Director – Taylor Sklenar
Dramaturg – Hannah Rublaitus
Scenic Designer – Rob Sunderman
Guest Lighting Designer – Ray Steveson
Costume Designer – Sarah Bennett
Stage Manager – Madeline El-Baroudi
Assistant Stage Manager – Erica Walling
Band Leader – Mat Wymore
Vocal Coach – Hannah Rublaitus
Act II Choreography – Mumbi Kasumba
Stagehands – Rachel Henderson, Chirayu Pandey, Alejandro Valdes
Wardrobe – Bethany Berger
Photography – Nancy Thompson
Poster Design – Mary Bendgen
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Technical Director – Natalie Hining
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek

Production photos and headshots by Nancy Thompson and James Tener

Poster by Mary Bendgen

Read more about Mr. Burns in Inside Iowa State and the Iowa State Daily!