Little Women (the musical) – Iowa State University Theatre Production

book by Allan Knee, music by Jason Howland, lyrics by Mindi Dickstein

“We must promise to remain just as we are.  Solid like a fortress.  No matter what happens, we must promise it will always be the four March sisters forever.”

Based on the novel by Louisa May Alcott. The four March sisters, Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy, are about to spend their first Christmas without their father, who is away at war.  Jo longs to be a writer; Amy aspires to be an artist; Beth is musical and hopes someday to have a piano in the house; Meg looks forward to being a wife and mother.  There isn’t much money, but the girls have the deeper security of knowing they are loved.  The four grow from childhood to adulthood and some of their dreams come true.

March 31 and April 1, 7, and 8 at 7:30 p.m.; April 2 and 9 at 2 p.m. – Fisher Theater, Ames

Adults $21, seniors $19, students $14. Single tickets on sale through the Iowa State Center Ticket Office in Stephens Auditorium and TicketMaster. Tickets are also available at the door.

Cast List

Jo March – Maddie Olsem
Professor Bhaer – Nathaniel Han
Amy March – Emmy Cuvelier
Meg March – Morgan Darrow
Beth March – Libby Peterson
Marmee March – Olivia Griffith
Mr. Lawrence – Nolan Brown
Laurie Lawrence – Jace Hadish
Aunt March – Bridget Johnston
Mr. John Brooke – Keaton Lane
Mrs. Kirk – Sarah Bennett

Creative Team

Director – Brad Dell
Assistant Director/Choreographer – Sarah Etheridge
Musical Director – Patrick Gagnon
Guest Scenic Designer – Jay Jagim
Costume Designer – Doris Nash
Lighting Designer – Jim Trenberth
Sound Designer – Josh Jepson
Stage Manager – Amanda Keesling
Assistant Stage Manager – Ben White
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Michaela Conklin, Erin Connor, Caitlin Koziel, Kelsie Leathers, Lydia Loya, Rebecca Nelson
Scene Shop Assistants – Nolan Clemons, Christopher Culver, Ashley Diaz, Simon Duster, Mitchell Finger, Katelyn Kemp, Joseph Ulven
Charge Artist – Sarah Bennett
Master Electrician – Kenneth Shibata
Lighting Assistants – Russell Heerdt, Davis Vande Steeg
Props – Rebel Clodi, Merideth Raine
Technical Director – Natalie Hining
Light Board – Jared Rickard
Sound Board – Bryan Kalkhoff
Stagehand – Joi Wright
Wardrobe – Erin Gilligan, Olivia Krieger
Photography – Nancy Thompson and James Tener
Poster Design – Mary Bendgen
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek

Publicity photos by Nancy Thompson and James Tener