James and the Giant Peach – Iowa State University Theatre

from the book by Roald Dahl, dramatized by Richard R. George

A magical peach! An imprisoned boy! Insect friends! An incredible journey! By the time the play is over, much is revealed–the wickedness of some, the goodness of others, and the indecision of many when they are faced with crises. This amazing adventure of James Henry Trotter, a boy who dreams of escape from his life and his fearsome aunts is based on the famous children’s book written by Roald Dahl.

September 30 and October 1, 7, and 8 at 7:30 p.m. and October 2 and 9 at 2 p.m.

Fisher Theater – Ames

The Cast

Aunt Spiker/Ocean Wave – Clayton Johnson
Centipede – Amber Newman
Centipede – Andrew Schmeisser
Centipede/ Narrator – Julie Graves
Cloudman/Shark – Nathan Zobel
Earthworm – Laurel Krause
Father/Officer – Michael Rubke
Glow-worm – Veronica Skaar
Grasshopper – Nate Thurston
James – Brendan Dunphy
Ladybug – Rachael Rhoades
Litlle old Man/Captain – Thomas Cahill
Mother/Aunt Sponge – Jayne Anderson
Officer/Cloudman – Jordan Whalen
Passerby/Shark – Mariana Seda
Shark/Wave – Natalia Stopakova
Silkworm – Matt Bridges
Spider – Laura Lee Williams
Spider – William T. Mort

Creative Team

Director – Sarah Zwick-Tapley
Costume Designer – Teal Larsen
Lighting Designer – Jim Trenberth
Scenic Designer – Robert Sunderman
Sound Designer – Adam Cedertree
Stage Manager – Brittany Wagoner
Assistant Stage Manager – Josh Hasty
Light Board Operator – Daniel Francis
Sound Board – Lindsey Osborne
Wardrobe – Elfira, Becky Reed, Alli Setchell
Stagehands – Jason Baragary, Vanessa Goetz, Katie Pruisner, Kaytee Stearns
Internet Site Coordinator – Jim Trenberth
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Brett Burkhardt, Christen Harms, Jessica Havlicek, Rachel Kerrigan, Teal Larsen, Riannan Peterson, Jennifer Phillips
Technical Director – Emily Brainerd
Scene Shop Assistants – Jillian Carstensen, Cassie Gregorich, Sarah Hill, David Krenz, Megan McGonegle, Andrew Schaffer, Rachael Waggoner, Zach Wilkerson, Ben Wright
Props Master – Megan McGonegle
Poster and Program Graphic – Robert Sunderman
Program Design – Liese VanderBroek
Publicity Assistant – Samantha Davis
Photography – Patrick Gouran
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek


Production photos and publicity photos by Patrick Gouran

Poster by Rob Sunderman

Read about it in Inside Iowa State and the Iowa State Daily!