Into the Woods 2014 – Iowa State University Theatre Production

music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim
book by James Lapine


“Into the woods–you have to grope, but that’s the way you learn to cope. Into the woods to find there’s hope of getting through the journey.”

Familiar fairy tale characters learn the hard way that the “Happily Ever After” they sought isn’t necessarily the end of story.  For example, Cinderella begins to wonder if her prince is only charming, but not really sincere and almost everyone will face a frightening giant in the woods.

Presented by special arrangement with Music Theatre International (MTI). Produced in cooperation with ISU Music and Stars Over VEISHEA.

April 4, 5, 11, and 12 at 7:30 p.m.; April 6 and 13 at 2 p.m.

Fisher Theater – Ames

The Cast

Narrator – Ethan Peterson
Jack – Kevin Barron
The Baker – Wes Ketcham
Cinderella’s Father – Marcus Cross
Mysterious Man – Evan Stenzel
The Wolf – Anson Woodin
Cinderella’s Prince – Sam Johnson
Rapunzel’s Prince – Aaron Johnson
Steward – Phillip Sears
Hansel – Joseph Leinen
Milky White – Emily Zapotocny
Cinderella – Grace Warren
The Baker’s Wife – Ashley Wiser
Stepmother – Annie Feenstra
Florinda – Sara Jane Mildenstein
Lucinda – Courtney Kayser
Jack’s Mother – Taylor Troyer
Little Red – Grace Chermak
The Witch – Kourtney Richards
Cinderella’s Mother/Giant – Hannah Skalbeck
Rapunzel – Kersten Tipping
Grandmother – Samantha Koontz
Snow White – Hannah Rublaitus
Sleeping Beauty – Madeline Olsem
Gretel – Kylie Erickson
Singing Harp – Annie Metzger


Piccolo/Flute – Maggie McGinity
Flute – Brianne Anderson
Clarinet – Alice Hinshaw
Bassoon – Emily Arkenberg
Trumpet – Sarah McEntee
Horn – Christina Goeddel, Robert Termuhlen
Violin – Kaitlyn Chase, Tzu-Han Hsu
Viola – Josh Garlinghouse, Johanna Sholar
Cello – Griffen Clark, Dan Harter, Felicia Kraus
Bass – Christafur Ambrose
Percussion – Alex Ortberg, Rebecca Luksan
Piano/Synthesizer – Alex Doser

Creative Team

Director – Brad Dell
Scenic Designer – Rob Sunderman
Costume Designer – Kelly Marie Schaefer
Lighting Designer – Zachary Eskrich
Musical Director – Donald Simonson
Choreographer – Valerie Williams
Stage Manager – Kiah Kayser
Technical Director – Derek Hisek
Scene Shop Assistants – Devin Barr, Rebel Clodi, Zachary Eskrich, André Johnson, Jr., Kiah Kayser, Brent LeBlanc, Nick Neal, Katie Olsen, Rachel Pick, Bryce Poellet, Seth Rickard, Hannah Roberg, Carter Roeske, Carolyn Susa, Justin Voga, Mackenzie Watson
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Kate Bruce, Lauren Dursky, Linsey Heister, Madeleine Kobus, Ariel Prosser, Katie Riese
Conductor/Assistant Musical Director – Patrick Gagnon
Accompanist – Alex Doser
Sound Designer – Josh Jepson
Assistant Director – Meghan M. Berkland
Assistant Choreographer – Rachel Graff
Assistant Stage Managers – Lauren Dursky, Carolyn Susa
Assistants to the Scenic Designer – Lauren Carter, Lauren Dunteman, Bec Ribeiro
Production Manager – Jim Trenberth
Stars Over VEISHEA Producer – Mathias Peters
Props Master – Rebel Clodi, Mackenzie Watson
Wardrobe – Colin Douglas, Christina Holaday, Jenna Engebretson
Stagehands – Alyssa Peterson, Paige Robinson, Shannon Lange
Sound Board – Chris Williams
Light Board – Nick Neal
Photography – Nancy Thompson
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek


Publicity photos, production photos, and headshots by Nancy Thompson


Read about it in Inside Iowa State.