Hedda Gabler – Iowa State University Theatre

by Henrik Ibsen/adapted by Brian Friel

“Oh, courage…oh yes! If only one had that, then life might be livable in spite of everything.”

Hedda Gabler is a strong and complicated woman with energy that is both attractive and destructive. She chooses to marry a kind, bumbling academic, but even on her honeymoon she feels trapped in a world for which she feels only contempt. What are her chances for a fulfilling life unless she has courage as well as passion? One of Ibsen’s most famous masterpieces.

September 30 and October 1, 7, 8 at 7:30 p.m.; October 2 at 1 p.m. and October 9 at 2 p.m.

Fisher Theater – Ames

Adults $16, seniors $14, students $8. Single tickets go on sale September 1 and are available through the Stephens Box Office in Ames or any TicketMaster.

The Cast

Hedda – Madison Welterlen
Judge Brack – Jeff White
Eilert Loevborg – Josh Ster
George Tesman – Matt Meldrem
Aunt Juliana Tesman – Vicky Stafford
Thea Elvsted – Kiersten Naberhaus
Bertha – Teresa Blader

Production Team

Director – Brad Dell
Guest Scenic Designer – Jay Jagim
Costume Designer – Kelly Marie Schaefer
Lighting Designer – Jim Trenberth
Stage Manager – Liz Rankin
Assistant Stage Manager – Amber Fitzsimmons
Assistant Director – Austin Kopsa
Props Master – Liz Rankin
Light Board – Fernando Berrios
Sound Board – Devyn Lenaghan
Stagehand – Krupali Desai
Wardrobe – Elizabeth Draus
Photography – Dan Neubauer and Patrick Gouran
Poster Design – Mary Bendgen
Program Design – Liese VanderBroek
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Linsey Heister, Amanda Jorgensen, Madeleine Kobus, Amy Lempia, Emma Rose Miles, Emily Morley, Samantha Silver, Anna Ward
Technical Director – Derek Hisek
Scene Shop Assistants – Janie Anderson, Michael Brandt, Taylor Clemens, Zachary Eskrich, Amber Fitzsimmons, Dan Fynaardt, Kiah Kayser, Austin Kopsa, Matt Meldrem, Kiersten Naberhaus, Liz Rankin, Josh Ster, Emily Visser, Madison Welterlen, Charles Ziemann
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek
Publicity Assistant – Corinne Oertel
House Manager – Casey Buenzow
Box Office Supervisors – Brad Dell, Zachary Eskrich, Amber Fitzsimmons, Jim Trenberth


Publicity photos by Dan Neubauer

Production photos by Patrick Gouran
Production photos by Ben Neubauer

Poster by Mary Bendgen

Read about it in Ames 24/7 and Inside Iowa State!