Guys and Dolls – Iowa State University Theatre

The Stars Over VEISHEA Musical

based on a story and characters by Damon Runyon
music and lyrics by Frank Loesser
book by Jo Swerling and Abe Burrows

“No doll can take the place of aces back to back.”

A New York gambler named Sky Masterson takes a $1000 bet that he can’t get Sarah Brown from the Save-a-Soul Mission to go to Havana with him. The bet has a hidden motive to finance a crap game. Sky has always been lucky, but Sarah seems immune to his charms. Will Sarah fall in love or will Sky’s luck run out at last? Winner of the Tony Award for Best Musical.

April 16 and 17 at 7:30 p.m.

Stephens Auditorium – Ames

The Cast

Nathan Detroit – Colin Morgan
Sky Masterson – Steve Goedken
Adelaide – Madison Welterlen
Sarah Brown – Jocelyn Ascherl
Nicely-Nicely Johnson – Grant Furgiuele
Benny Southstreet – Ben Millar
Rusty Charlie – Austen Naggatz
Harry the Horse – Michael Reza Heath
Angie the Ox – Alex Longnecker
Big Jule – Daniel Ellis
Lt. Brannigan – Dan Fynaardt
Gangster/Havana Dancer/Cow – Bryce Larsen
Gangster/Havana Dancer/Cow – Jonathan Brugioni
Gangster/Havana Dancer – Kyle Phillips
Gangster/Havana Dancer – Josh Ster
Gangster – Aaron Hofmeyer
Gangster – Mike Givens
Gangster – Austin “Scotty” Locke
Gangster – Mitchell Nieland
Mimi/Hot Box Dancer – Meghan Sigwarth
Hot Box/Havana Dancer – Kelsey Kovacevich
Hot Box/Havana Dancer – Hannah Skalbeck
Hot Box/Havana Dancer – Shelly Farley
Hot Box/Havana Dancer – Heather Kae Smith
Hot Box Dancer – Elena Riley
Hot Box Dancer – Anna Ward
Hot Box Dancer – Jacquie Evans
Hot Box Dancer – Katherine Wentink
Hot Box Dancer – Rachael Hagen
Arvide Abernathy – Scott Hurst
General Cartwright – Kathryn Mosiman
Agatha, Mission Band – Ashley Sievers
Calvin, Mission Band – Joseph Listopad
Martha, Mission Band – Emily Winter
Ensemble – Megan Maller, Connor O’Brien-Stoffa, Margaux Mireault, Becky Fey, Sara Jensen, Anne Todey


Flute – Karina Snider, Katie Maurer, Tony LaBat, Alyssa Gilkey
Reeds – Matt Maves, Katherine Seehusen, Alexa Gibbs, Mark Lukasiewicz, Holly Kauffmann
Horn – Mike Lee
Trumpet – Ben Kane, Bernard Moore, Deborah Bierschenk
Trombone – Brian Stout, Jeff Schmitt
Violin – Katelyn Rew, Emily Kipper, Kaitlin Lindsay, Victoria Farwell
Cello – Yeil Park
Bass – Kyle Miller, Jonathan Thoma
Percussion – Nicholas McKinley
Piano – James Tener

Creative Team

Director – Brad Dell
Musical Director/Orchestra Conductor – Donald Simonson
Assistant Director – Mat Wymore
Choreographer – Taryn Packheiser
Assistant to the Choreographer – Anna Sunstrom
Scenic Designer – Rob Sunderman
Assistant Scenic Designer – Davalyn Stepzinski
Costume Designer – Gregory Duckett
Hair and Makeup Assistant – Lindsey VanWyk
Lighting Designer/Master Electrician – Nick Veenstra
Stage Manager – Carrie Taylor
Assistant Stage Managers – Ashley A. Smith, Amber Fitzsimmons
Technical Director – Derek Hisek
Scene Shop Assistants – Dan Fynaardt, Nick Juelsgaard, Matt Meldrem, Ashley A. Smith, Kelly Teitsworth, Mat Wymore, Nick Veenstra
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Lindsey Faber, Colleen Pokorny, Samantha Silver, Anna Sunstrom, Lindsey VanWyk, Justine Year
Production Manager – Jim Trenberth
Light Board Operator – Will Rundle
Sound Board Operator – Katharina Beckerleg
Props Master – Kelly Teitsworth
Photography – Lindsey VanWyk
Scenic Change Artist – Brooke Berg
Scenic Artists – Davalyn Stepzinski, Sea Sunderman
Stagehands – Matt Meldrem, Jeff Mason, Libby Schreiner, Liz Rankin, Kalynn Doebel
Wardrobe – Tamara White, Justine Year, Courtney Gavaert, Brittny Rebhuhn, Abby Kramer
Follow Spot – Chris Hayes, Josh Jordan
Dance Captains – Bryce Larsen, Shelly Farley
Assistant Producer – Lindsey VanWyk
Cast Relations Manager – Carrie Taylor
Sales Manager – Amanda Houge
Underwriting Coordinator – Scott O’Rourke
Special Events Coordinator – Tamara White
Advisor – Brad Dell
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek


Read about it in Inside Iowa State and the Iowa State Daily!

Production photos by Lindsey VanWyk