Dearly Departed – Iowa State University Theatre

by David Bottrell and Jessie Jones

Dearly Departed takes us to the Baptist backwoods of the Bible Belt.The beleaguered Turpin family proves that living and dying in the South are seldom tidy and always hilarious. Despite their earnest efforts to pull themselves together for their father’s funeral, the Turpin’s other problems keep overshadowing the solemn occasion: Firstborn Ray-Bud drinks himself silly as the funeral bills mount; Junior, the younger son, is juggling financial ruin, a pack of no-neck monster kids, and a wife who suspects him of infidelity in the family car; their spinster sister, Delightful, copes with death as she does life, by devouring junk food; and all the neighbors add more than two cents.  As the situation becomes fraught with mishap, Ray-Bud says to his long-suffering wife, “When I die, don’t tell nobody. Just bury me in the backyard and tell everybody I left you.” Amidst the chaos, the Turpins turn for comfort to their friends and neighbors, an eccentric community of misfits who just manage to pull together and help each other through their hours of need, and finally, the funeral.

November 12 and December 3 at 7:30 p.m. and November 14 and December 5 at 2 p.m.

Fisher Theater – Ames

The Cast

Bud, Junior – Derek Paper
Juanita, Veda, Singer – Amanda Mullen
Lucille – Rachel Miller
Marguerite – Rachael Rhoades
Nadine, Delightful, Singer – Ashley Lorenz
Ray-Bud – Philip Henry
Raynelle – Melanie Snow
Reverend, Norval, Clyde – William T. Mort
Royce, Singer – Kenneth Oishi
Suzanne – Kristin Harle

Creative Team

Director – Robin Stone
Costume Designer – Annaliese Baker
Lighting Designer – Jim Trenberth
Scene Designer – Rob Sunderman
Stage Managers – Lore Blomquist, Erin Karhoff
Assistant Stage Manager – Mea Hernandez
Light Board Operator – Patti Stringer
Assistant Costume Designer – Teal Larsen
Hair and Makeup Design – Chieko Calina, Teal Larsen, Laura Helmer, Nate Thurston
Stagehands – Anthony Davis, Elise Gregg, Josh Hasty, Emily Lowry, Willie Parks, Rachel Pothoff, Cecilia Radilla, Laura Slimak, Catie Tell
Wardrobe Mistress – Jennifer Phillips
Wardrobe – Camille Cardona, Eboni Dale, Sarah Dunkin, Breeanna Kaser, Andrea Kemp
Props Master – Megan McGonegle
Photography – Patrick Gouran
Program Design – Liese VanderBroek
Technical Director – Brian Swanson
Electric Shop Staff – Derek Paper
Scene Shop Assistants – Jillian Carstensen, Laura Ellis, Bret Dobbins, Jeremy Hilbert, Derek Paper, Ben Wright
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Brett Burkhardt, Heidi Frohardt, Jessica Havlicek, Teal Larsen, Jennifer Phillips, Danielle Warnke
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek
Publicity Assistant – Jessi McCool
House Manager – Kevin Geiken, Erin Karhoff
Box Office Supervisor – Brian Swanson


Production photos and publicity photos by Patrick Gouran

Read about it in Inside Iowa State!