Cabaret – Iowa State University Theatre Production

book by Christopher Isherwood; music by John Kander; lyrics by Fred Ebb

Layout 1

“No use permitting some prophet of gloom to wipe every smile away.  Life is a Cabaret, old chum; come to the Cabaret.”

The Nazi party is rapidly rising to power in Germany, but Sally Bowles, a singer in the Kit Kat Klub, an underground nightclub in Berlin, does not really notice.  She has plans to be an actress or to find a wealthy man to marry her.  Her instincts are to live in the moment and not take anything very seriously.  The Master of Ceremonies at the club is also determined to keep the entertainment and fun going even though despair and the end of their world may be at hand. Warning: Adult content.

November 4, 5, 11, and 12 at 7:30 p.m.; November 6 and 13 at 2 p.m. – Fisher Theater, Ames

Adults $24, seniors $24, students $16. Single tickets on sale through the Iowa State Center Ticket Office in Stephens Auditorium and TicketMaster. Tickets are also available at the door.

The Cast

Master of Ceremonies – Jacob Hopson

Kit Kat Girls
Rosie – Joi R. Wright
Lulu – Libby Peterson
Frenchie – Steffani Sea
Texas – Taylor Millar
Fritzie – Bridget Ann Johnston
Helga – Erin Gilligan

Kit Kat Boys
Victor – Ryan Foreman
Bobby – Andrew Kille Smith
Hans – Joey Ulven
Hermann – Keaton Lane

Cliff – Christopher Culver
Sally Bowles – Emmy Cuvelier
Ernst – Joel Williams
Herr Shultz – Nolan Brown
Fraulein Kost – Morgan Darrow
Fraulein Schneider – Angelica Elkema
Max/Customs Officer/Sailor – Davis Vande Steeg
Rudy – Ben White
Accordion Player/Ensemble – Olivia Griffith

The KCACTF Irene Ryan nominees for Cabaret are Emmy Cuvelier and Christopher Culver. Congratulations!


Alto Saxophone – Kevin Barron
Banjo/Guitar – Steve Hurst
Bass – Cory Stark
Cello – Quyn Westfall
Piano – Dustin Miller
Percussion – Miles Lucas
Reed 1 – Michael Golemo, Tryiston Tekippem
Reed 2 – Brody Galvin
Synthesizer – Jacob Metzler
Tenor Saxophone – Michael Giles
Trombone – Parker Reed
Trumpet 1 – Amber Yoakam
Trumpet 2 – Delano Robinzine
Violin – Kelly Olsen, Skylah Rachel
Viola – Rachel Henning

Creative Team

Director – Brad Dell
Musical Director – Donald Simonson
Choregrapher – Valerie Williams
Scenic Designer – Rob Sunderman
Costume Designer – Kelly Marie Schaefer
Lighting Designer – Jim Trenberth
Sound Designer – Josh Jepson
Stage Manager – Amanda Keesling
Assistant Stage Manager – Merideth Raine
Assistant Directors/Dramaturgs – Sarah Etheridge, Nathaniel Han
Dialect Coaches – Sarah Etheridge, Amanda Petefish-Schrag
Light Board – Nolan Kratky
Sound Board – Bryan Kalkhoff
Stagehands – Emily Dietzenbach, Jordan Wolfe
Wardrobe – Lena Frank
Follow Spot – Vivian Cook, Maia Lorraine Craddock
Photography – Nancy Thompson and James Tener
Poster – Mary Bendgen
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants – Michaela Conklin, Erin Connor, Caleb Hanner, Caitlin Koziel, Kelsie Leathers, Eleanor Lofte Lydia Loya, Rebecca Nelson
Technical Director – Natalie Hining
Scene Shop Assistants – Kevin Barron, Brady Carnahan, Nolan Clemons, Christopher Culver, Caleb Davidson, Ashley M. Diaz, Simon Duster, Savanna Falter, Amanda Keesling, Katelyn Kemp, Lane Larson, Kenneth Shibata
Charge Artist – Sarah R. Bennett
Props – Rebel Clodi, Savanna Falter
Lighting Assistants – Caleb Davidson, Lane Larson, William Milsap-Thomas, Kenneth Shibata
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek
Office Assistants – Jacob Campen, Adam Millsap


Publicity photos, headshots, and production photos by Nancy Thompson and James Tener

Posters by Mary Bendgen, Nancy Thompson, and James Tener

Read about it in the Iowa State Daily’s November 6 edition and 24/7 and Inside Iowa State!