A Midsummer Night’s Dream 2006 – Iowa State University Theatre Production

by William Shakespeare

This great romantic comedy depicts the adventures of two pairs of young lovers who flee Athens to find freedom and happiness in the forest. A group of amateur actors also move through the enchanted moonlit woods inhabited by mischievous fairies. For the last four hundred years, this script has proved one of Shakespeare’s most popular and still delights with wonder, magic and romance as it illustrates how fantasy and imagination influence individual views of the world.

December 1, 2, 8, and 9 at 7:30 p.m. and December 3 and 10 at 2 p.m.

Fisher Theater – Ames

The Cast

Cobweb – Veronica Skaar
Demetrius – Nathan Zobel
Egeus – Derek Paper
First Fairy – Jenae Hohbein
Francis Flute – William T. Mort
Hermia – Mariana Seda
Hippolyta – Kim Chelf
Lysander – Brendan Dunphy
Male Fairy – Steven Vander Linden
Male Fairy – Jeff Davies
Male Fairy – Colin Houseal
Male Fairy – Brad Pingel
Moth – Katy Bird
Mustard Seed – Lindsey Osborne
Nick Bottom – Michael Rubke
Oberon – Jordan Whalen
Peter Quince – Amanda Mullen
Philostrate – Malary Harris
Puck – Ellis Wells
Robin Starveling – Justine Year
Snug – Jason Pollard
Theseus – Philip Henry
Titania – Genya Coffey
Tom Snout – Kaytee Sterns

Creative Team

Director – Karla Kash
Assistant Director – Scott Siepker
Composer – William Penn
Costume Designer – Christen Harms
Costume Designer – Sally Westphal
Lighting Designer – Jim Trenberth
Choreographer – Karla Kash
Fight Choreographer – Karla Kash
Scenic Designer – Erin Smidt
Sound Design – Nate Thurston
Stage Manager – David Burrack
Assistant Stage Manager – Andrew Schmeisser
Singing Vocal Coach – James Tener
Dance Captain – Janae Hohbein
Makeup Design – Jaime Wood
Light Board Operator – Patrick McGregor
Sound Board Operator – Joseph Seiler
Program Design – Liese VanderBroek
Stagehand – Cianne Suhr
Dressers – Heidi Germann, Anna Krieger, Anna Sunstrom, Tamara White
Volunteer Coordinator – Gregory Duckett
Props Assistants – Andrea Glawe, Derek Paper
Photography – Patrick Gouran
Poster Design – Casey L. Gradischnig
Internet Site Coordinator – Jim Trenberth
Costume Shop Supervisor – Doris Nash
Costume Shop Assistants –Lindsay Bryda, Molly Davis, Holly Flugge, Melissa Haegele, Christen Harms, Veronica Skaar, Joanna Suckling, Jennifer Tegtmeier, Sally Westphal, Catherine Wetzel, Justine Year
Technical Director – Emily Brainerd
Scene Shop Assistants – Keith Canter, Jeff Faine, Andrea Glaw, Sarah Hill, Ben Howell, David Krenz, Derek Paper, Shawn Passow, Andrew Schaffer, Andrew Schmeisser, Ben Wright
Secretary – Liese VanderBroek
Publicity Assistant – Samantha Davis
Box Office Supervisor – Sarah Hill
House Managers – Jillian Carstensen, Abby Norton


Publicity photos and production photos by Patrick Gouran

Poster #1 and Poster #2 by Casey Gradischnig

Read about it in Inside Iowa State and the Iowa State Daily!